Bridesmaids


Before you crucify me for the grade, hear me out. Keep in mind that I am not the target audience for a film about a wedding and I have never been a big fan of Kristen Wiig or Maya Rudolph on SNL, so you can take this review and read it how you like. I do still consider Bridesmaids better than I had anticipated – even on the second viewing, but for different reasons from the majority.

Grade:

Annie Walker’s (Wiig) life comes crashing to a halt after she becomes the maid of honor for her best friend, Lillian (Rudolph), and begins competing with the super-bridesmaid, Helen (Rose Byrne). Jon Hamm, Chris O’Dowd and of course Melissa McCarthy steal the show…I mean, costar.

Kristen Wiig and co-writer Annie Mumolo deserve praise for keeping the conversations and reactions authentic. Even during the most awkward moments, the dialog was still realistic with the inclusion of common pauses and unpracticed lines. This may have been a result of improvisation, but Wiig and Mumolo’s writing set the foundation.

The first hour or so of the film is by far the stronger half. We are introduced to all of the bridesmaids and given a small introduction to each of their stories. This half also includes the hilarious scenes, such as the dress shop and plane. Jon Hamm is more prominent in the beginning as well. His sex-first-think-later Ted is everything wrong with the male gender, but hilarious in so many ways (apparently more so for men since zero women laughed when I first saw it in theaters). He is such a caricature of chauvinist attitudes that you just have to laugh at the absurdity of his nature. Meanwhile, O’Dowd provides the “normal” guy character with a sly wit that keeps him interesting and thankfully prevents Rhodes from becoming too soft.

The problems arise once the film focuses almost entirely on Annie. We may be introduced to every bridesmaid, but many, even the bride Lillian, are pushed to the side and ignored. Ellie Kemper and Wendi McLendon-Covey are quite funny in their own rights, but sadly ignored after the plane ride. This is where McCarthy pushed her way into the limelight by completely rearranging her personality to fit that of Megan and overshadow basically everyone else. She’s somewhat obnoxious and very blunt, but she tells it as it is and cares for those around her. I admit the publicity she gained from this role was well deserved, but I hope she is not typecast later on because of Megan.

Bridesmaids is simply too long and slow. It starts with a bang – literally, but not the kind you’re thinking of – and slows until the final, extremely cheesy ending. Since the hype stated Bridesmaids as a romp for one and all there is an expectation of it to remain semi-raunchy and hilarious throughout while still appealing to males and females alike. Unfortunately, this is just not true. There is a progressive dive into “chick flick” territory, which is not necessarily bad, but it alienates the male audience fairly abruptly and never returns to the initial level.

All in all Bridesmaids is fun and I felt a second viewing was necessary to appreciate it. Alas the opposite rang true. Most will enjoy it, and it will open doors for female comedians, but as a film it’s still largely middle-of-the-road.

    • todayiwatchedamovie
    • April 17th, 2012

    One of the few movies I’ve seen since starting my blog that I couldn’t bring myself to review because it was so awful.

  1. “All in all Bridesmaids is fun and I felt a second viewing was necessary to appreciate it. Alas the opposite rang true.” Totally agreed. The first time I watched it I laughed quite a bit but the second time through I thought I would like it more and ended up being glad when it was over.

    • Steph
    • April 14th, 2012

    haha and to think when i sat in the movie theater with you when you saw this the first time, I had no idea you were feeling fairly abruptly alienated! Nah, I agree, except for the part about not likin Maya Rudolph and Kirsten Wiig…you’re insane. But I think the rest of your review was spot on 😉

    • It was awful! People were looking at me and everything! or at least that’s how I imagined it. Also, you totally knew that I didn’t like her skits haha

        • Steph
        • April 15th, 2012

        I probably chose to have selective amnesia about that, otherwise there would have been no way we could be in the same room, which, at the time, happened quite often. Not anymore! Never see you, now I can scorn you all I want.

  1. April 15th, 2012

Let me know what you think

