Rushmore


rushmore poster

Apparently I haven’t posted in weeks; it seemed like two at the most. I offer my sincerest apologies, but to be honest I haven’t watched many movies (you’ll see why in a few days). To make up for it, I’ll be posting a few short reviews in the coming days as I ease back into writing these things. So naturally, I start off with a movie that went completely over my head: Rushmore.

Grade:

D+

Rushmore follows the exploits of a precocious fifteen year old, Max Fischer (Jason Schwartzman). Max attends the prestigious Rushmore Academy and finds a way to be involved in every extracurricular activity imaginable. This happens, however, as his grades fall to the point of academic probation. As he half-heartedly makes an attempt to raise his grades, he befriends Herman Blume (Bill Murray) and Rosemary Cross (Olivia Williams), the first-grade teacher. Hijinks ensue, somewhat.

Neu im Kino: Tragikomödie "Rushmore" mit Jason Schwartzman

From the mind of Wes Anderson, Rushmore finds a way to make you feel excluded from each and every joke. There were times when I would actually chuckle, but still feel like an outsider awkwardly eavesdropping on a conversation between two pretentious, artistic individuals. The film progresses painfully slow, much in the same way as the analogous conversation. At a mere 93 minutes, I still found moments to check my watch and pause the DVD to take breaks. There is simply not much going on in Rushmore.

Admittedly, I’m not the most accurate description of a Wes Anderson fan, but I have liked his recent work in Moonrise Kingdom and Fantastic Mr. Fox. With those films I felt like I could connect with a character or at least partake in the humor. With Rushmore, the lack of plot, per se, and the distinct humor really stand out as the emphasis of the film; therefore, if you are not in on the joke, you aren’t going to be entertained.

rushmore-2

More so than most films, Rushmore requires a certain personality to truly appreciate it and unfortunately I do not possess the appropriate traits.

Trailer here

    • Marc Luesebrink
    • April 10th, 2013

    Have you reviewed Royal Tenenbaums (I couldn’t find it on the search)? I’d be curious to see your review because it is a top 5 movie for me and I’ve been waiting for another of his movies to match up. In my view, none has. Although I liked (but didn’t love) Fantastic Mr. Fox, I didn’t really like Rushmore, Life Aquatic, or Darjeeling Express. I give Bottlerocket a pass as a decent first movie and I haven’t seen Moonrise Kingdom.

    • I have not seen The Royal Tenenbaums; although I’ve heard good things about it from multiple sources (compared to only one source for Rushmore). I remember watching a little less than a half hour of Darjeeling, but couldn’t stand it and never saw Life Aquatic or Bottlerocket. I’ll be sure to check out RT when I get a chance and let you know!

  1. I’ve yet to check this film out, maybe I’ll reconsider. Nice review and awesome site, I am now following. I recently started my own film blog and would love for you to check it out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Let me know what you think

